Uncategorized

Five ways to damage an autistic child without even knowing

http://autisticnotweird.com/five-ways-to-damage/

This article is so good, I’m going to print multiple copies to hide around the house, car, wherever, and hope to God that my husband actually reads it and puts some thought into this. Maybe hearing it from someone other than me will make a difference!

Especially number 3 (assume their personalities are skewed and unreliable). I can’t tell you how many times my husband drags baby Kish around the house, trying to make him do what he wants him to do, because Kish only differs in opinion because there’s something wrong with him. Not only do I despise that mentality anyway, but there’s nothing wrong with Kish –  he’s just being a normal toddler, learning about the world as he grows. It’s rarely a walk in the park 100% of the time when you’re a parent. It’s just how it goes.

And just for the record, re number 5, I don’t hate Kish’s autism. It’s a part of him, and I can’t hate any part of him. It’s a part of what makes him who he is, the amazing little boy who brings so much joy into our life. Despite my recent post about loving and hating the same thing, I really don’t. Some days are harder than others, but I don’t wish he was ‘normal’. To me, he’s everything.

IMG_4929.jpg
Everything is worth it when the day ends like this.
2 thoughts on “Five ways to damage an autistic child without even knowing

  1. The person that wrote the post, are they raising a kid with autism or they are dealing with the kids, because it’s very different if you the parent. Lord knows I’m guilty of no 5. Many times I have said it

Leave a Reply

